Catholic Social Teaching

In 1891 Pope Leo XIII issued the encyclical "Rerum Novarum" (On the Condition of Labor) which began the Church's ever growing body of teaching on social justice.  Since 1891 many popes have issued their own teaching in an effort to "read the signs of the times" to apply Church teaching to current society.  Over time certain principles and values have emerged as recurring themes that span the decades and offer insight into what God is doing and is inviting us to join Him in futhering the Kingdom of Heaven here on earth.  The seven major themes of Catholic Social teaching are: 

  1. Life and Dignity of the Human Person
  2. Call to Family, Community and Participation
  3. Rights and Responsibilities
  4. Option for the Poor and Vulnerable
  5. The Dignity of Work and the Rights of Workers
  6. Solidarity
  7. Care for God's Creation

We invite you to view the many resources that are available through the links below.  It is our prayer that once informed, you will feel called to take action in promoting social justice in our community, our country and throughout the world.

US Conference of Catholic Bishops